The Tuscan Archipelago

The Tuscan Archipelago

Basic informations about the itinerary

The legend and the history of a crystalline beauty. The Tuscan Archipelago is formed by a group of seven major islands, with some minor ones, situated between Tuscany and Corsica. The archipelago is surrounded by four seas: the Ligure sea, on north of the island of Elba, the canal of Piombino to the east, the Tirreno sea to the south and the canal of Corsica, on the west of Elba’s coast. The archipelago is a part of the “Pelagos Sanctuary for Mediterranean Marine Mammals”, a protected underwater reserve measuring 90,000 km².

Elba: this island is the largest of the archipelago and the third biggest in Italy. It offers a wide range of enchanting beaches, each of them characterized by crystalline water and unique seascape: an occasion not to be missed if you are a diving lover. Its uniquely varied hinterland even offers the possibility to explore the island both on foot or on bike, along its hiking paths.

Giglio: it’s the second largest island in the archipelago. Formed completely of granite, Giglio is characterized by a lush, vibrant fauna.

Capraia: this volcanic island is surrounded by magnificent sea floors, full of underwater archeological ruins. A unique destination for diving enthusiasts.

Montecristo: the most untouched and uninhabited of the archipelago, this island is practically inaccessible. It’s known for being the island that gave its name to Alexandres Dumas’ most famous character: the count of Montecristo.

Pianosa: it hosted a maximum-security prison until 1997. For this reason, this island has maintained its wild and natural character.

Giannutri: this island cradles numerous historical sites from the Roman era, all nestled in natural lush surroundings.

Gorgona: the smallest island of the archipelago, Gorgona can only be visited obtaining a special permit. It hosts the marvelous beaches of Cala Martina and Cala Scirocco.